Government Revenue from Education Service Fees
Full-year revenue collected by the Federal Government from fees classified as Education Services Fees.
| Year | Education service-fee revenue |
|---|---|
| 2024 | Approximately $230,000 |
| 2025 | Approximately $360,000 |
Key finding: Revenue from education service fees increased by 55.3%, with approximately $130,000 more collected in 2025
Source: Federal Ministry of Finance, 2024 and 2025 End-Year Budget Performance Reports
SRA publication date: 21/09/2026
Monthly School Fees Average monthly school fees by education level, measured in US dollars.
| Education Level | Monthly Fee |
|---|---|
| Grades 1–4 | $12 |
| Grades 5–8 | $15 |
| Forms 1–4 | $20 |
Key finding: Monthly fees increase with education level. Forms 1–4 cost $8 more per month than Grades 1–4. Source: Somali Researchers Association (SRA)
Cost of School Textbooks by Grade
Cost of a complete set of school textbooks for one student, measured in US dollars.
| Grade Level | Textbook Cost |
|---|---|
| Grades 1–2 | $12 |
| Grades 3–4 | $14 |
| Grades 5–7 | $16 |
| Grade 8 | $20 |
| Forms 1–4 (Secondary) | $30 |
Key finding: A secondary-school textbook set costs 2.5 times more than a textbook set for Grades 1–2. Source: Somali Researchers Association (SRA) Date: Not stated on the original card
Most Expensive University Degree Programmes in Somalia
The five university degree programmes with the highest reported tuition costs in Somalia.
| Rank | Degree Programme | Tuition Cost |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Medicine and Surgery | $18,900 |
| 2 | Aviation | $8,160 |
| 3 | Dentistry | $6,840 |
| 4 | Engineering | $6,000 |
| 5 | Information Technology | $4,500 |
Key finding: Medicine and Surgery is the most expensive programme, costing more than four times as much as Information Technology.
Source: Somali Researchers Association (SRA) Date: May 2026
Education Document Verification Costs in Somalia
Comparison of the cost of obtaining a secondary-school certificate and an authentication stamp.
| Education Document Service | Responsible Institution | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary-school certificate | Ministry of Finance | $5 |
| Authentication stamp (Tasdi sameyn) | Ministry of Foreign Affairs | $20 |
Key finding: The authentication stamp costs four times more than processing the secondary-school certificate.
Source: SRA: Date: Not stated on the original card
Secondary-School Examination Candidates in Somalia
Number of students who sat the secondary-school examinations in 2025 and 2026.
| Administration | 2025 | 2026 | Increase |
|---|---|---|---|
| Six Federal Member States | 38,471 | 44,136 | 5,665 |
| Puntland | 8,413 | 9,153 | 740 |
| Somaliland | 15,696 | 16,123 | 427 |
| Total | 62,580 | 69,412 | 6,832 |
Key finding: The total number of examination candidates increased by 6,832 students, equivalent to approximately 10.9%.
Source: Ministries of Education of Somalia, Puntland and Somaliland
Date printed on card: 28 July 2026
Primary-School Textbook Prices by City
Cost of a complete Grade 4 textbook set for one student, measured in US dollars.
| City | Textbook Set Price |
|---|---|
| Nairobi | $42 |
| Addis Ababa | $17 |
| Mogadishu | $14 |
Key finding: Mogadishu has the lowest textbook price. A Grade 4 textbook set in Nairobi costs three times more than in Mogadishu.
Source: Somali Researchers Association (SRA)
Date: 20 July 2026
Grade 8 Girls’ Examination Performance in Banadir
Changes in girls’ participation and pass rates between the 2024/2025 and 2025/2026 academic years.
| Indicator | 2024/2025 | 2025/2026 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Girls who sat the examination | 18,646 | 21,508 | +2,862 |
| Girls as a percentage of all candidates | 45.4% | 46.5% | +1.1 percentage points |
| Girls who passed | 17,433 | 20,666 | +3,233 |
| Girls’ pass rate | 93.5% | 96.1% | +2.6 percentage points |
Key finding: More girls participated in the Grade 8 examination, while their pass rate increased from 93.5% to 96.1%.
Source: BRA
Date: 21 July 2026
The 10% Education Cohort Gap in Banadir
Comparison of students who sat the Grade 8 examination in 2021/2022 with those who reached the Form 4 examination in 2025/2026.
| Examination Stage | Academic Year | Students |
|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 examination | 2021/2022 | 26,860 |
| Form 4 examination | 2025/2026 | 24,173 |
| Students not reflected in the later cohort | — | 2,687 (10%) |
Key finding: Approximately 2,687 fewer students, or 10% of the original cohort, reached the Form 4 examination four years later.
Source: SRA Banadir Education Cohort Report (2021–2026)
Date: 16 August 2026
Form 4 Pass Rates Under the Farmaajo Administration
National Form 4 examination pass rates from 2017 to 2021.
| Year | Pass Rate |
|---|---|
| 2017 | 84.2% |
| 2018 | 78.0% |
| 2019 | 76.4% |
| 2020 | 74.6% |
| 2021 | 86.7% |
Key finding: The five-year average pass rate was approximately 80%. The lowest rate was 74.6% in 2020, followed by a strong recovery to 86.7% in 2021.
Source: Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education (MoECHE)
Date: 17 August 2026
Form 4 Pass Rates Under the Hassan Sheikh Administration
National Form 4 examination pass rates from 2022 to 2026.
| Year | Pass Rate |
|---|---|
| 2022 | 96.6% |
| 2023 | 92.4% |
| 2024 | 93.4% |
| 2025 | 93.8% |
| 2026 | 93.0% |
Key finding: The five-year average pass rate was approximately 93.8%, and the annual rate remained above 92% throughout the period.
Source: Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education (MoECHE)
Date: 18 August 2026
Form 4 National Examination Overview
Comparison of students planned to sit, attending and missing the 2026 Form 4 national examination.
| Examination Status | Students | Percentage |
|---|---|---|
| Planned candidates | 44,330 | 100% |
| Attended | 43,028 | 97.1% |
| Absent | 1,302 | 2.9% |
Key finding: Nearly 97% of the planned candidates attended, while 1,302 students were absent.
Source: Ministry of Education, Culture and Higher Education (MoECHE)
Date: 20 August 2026
Annual Instructional Hours for Secondary Students
Allocated annual learning hours for secondary-school students in selected East African countries.
| Country | Instructional Hours per Year |
|---|---|
| Somalia | 1,134 hours |
| Djibouti | 1,056 hours |
| Ethiopia | 1,024 hours |
Key finding: Somalia allocates the most instructional time—78 more hours than Djibouti and 110 more hours than Ethiopia each year.
Source: Ministry of Education
Date: 26 August 2026
Primary-School Completion in Somalia
Estimated share of children who complete primary education in Somalia.
| Indicator | Estimated Completion |
|---|---|
| Children completing primary school | Fewer than 20% |
| Simplified presentation | About 2 in 10 children |
Key finding: Only about 2 in every 10 children in Somalia complete primary school. This is a primary-school completion estimate and should not be interpreted only as a dropout rate.
Source: UNESCO, Education Finance Watch 2024
Date printed on card: 16 September 2026